Primea ReviewsAll Reviews

Primea Reviews is reader-supported. When you buy through our Amazon links we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. Rankings are set by our editors and never sold. Learn more

Ranked & Reviewed by Primea Reviews

The 8 Best Laptop Charging Carts for Classrooms of 2026, Ranked & Reviewed

By the Primea Editorial TeamUpdated November 1, 202611 min read8 products ranked
The 8 Best Laptop Charging Carts for Classrooms of 2026, Ranked & Reviewed

The short answer

The Meteteel 20 is the best classroom charging cart, a 95% pre-assembled steel cart with locks on both sides. The VEVOR is the pick for security, the POCHAR 30 for big rosters, and the Plugsharge for the highest capacity at 32 devices. The Kraftgen is the only open cart and the cheapest.

The Primea Scoreboard

Ranked & Reviewed

  1. A 20-device cart that is ready for day-one handout.

    94Outstanding
    Check price
  2. A locked 16-device cart with built-in surge protection.

    91Excellent
    Check price
  3. A 30-device cart with circuit breaker and grounding protection.

    88Excellent
    Check price
  4. An 18-device cart that draws from a single wall outlet.

    86Excellent
    Check price
  5. The highest-capacity cart here at 32 devices.

    84Very Good
    Check price
  6. A locked 30-bay cart rated for mixed devices.

    82Very Good
    Check price
  7. A 32-device cart with UL-approved power strips.

    80Very Good
    Check price
  8. A lower-cost open cart for fast daily access.

    78Very Good
    Check price

A charging cart fails in a classroom for boring reasons: a roster that outgrew the bays, a lock that secures only one side, or a power strip that trips when twenty devices draw current at once. Capacity and security get the headlines, but power protection and slot size decide whether the cart still works in October, after the cases and chargers have changed.

We reviewed eight carts from 16 to 32 devices and ranked them on the spec sheets: capacity, locking, device size limits, ventilation and electrical protection. Where the listing does not state something, such as a weight rating or a lock, we say so and do not guess. A cart bought to the wrong slot size is the costliest mistake here, because the whole fleet has to fit.

Before you buy

What Actually Matters

01

Capacity

Capacity is how many devices the cart holds. Match it to your largest class and add a few spare slots for growth and repairs. Options here run from 16 to 32. The ALT listing shows a title and spec mismatch on bay count, so check the number in the bullets, not just the title, and count the bays against the devices you actually own.

02

Locks

Locks keep devices safe overnight. Independent front and back locks, as on the Meteteel 20, secure both the door and the cable side. The POCHAR mixed-fleet cart ships two locks and four keys. Look for lock and key in the bullets, and note that the Plugsharge and Kraftgen list none, which pushes security onto the room.

03

Power protection

Charging dozens of devices draws heavy current. Surge protection, a circuit breaker or UL-listed strips reduce the risk of tripped circuits and damage. The POCHAR 30 lists a breaker with grounding, and the Plugsharge adds ground fault protection. Check what the listing names, and ask your facilities team about the circuit.

04

Slot size

Each slot caps screen size and thickness, such as 14 inches and 1.4 inches on the Meteteel 18. A device in a padded case may not fit. Measure your thickest device with its case, then compare with the slot size, because a cart that rejects a few devices is a failed purchase. The ALT cart states a 1 inch slot, the narrowest here.

05

Assembly

Pre-assembled carts arrive ready, while flat-pack carts need hours of building. The Meteteel 20 is 95% assembled, and the POCHAR ships flat. For a rollout before the school year, assembly time matters. Check the listing for the assembly percent or a build time, and plan staff time for flat-pack carts so the fleet is in service on the first day.

In-depth reviews

Our Ranked Picks, Reviewed

1

Best Overall

Meteteel Fully Assembled 20 Device Laptop Charging Cart for School (Black)

Our verdict: A 20-device cart that is ready for day-one handout.

The Meteteel 20 holds 20 devices, arrives 95% pre-assembled and has independent front and back locks. The steel frame is ventilated for all-day charging. Independent locks matter because a single-sided lock leaves the cable side open to anyone who walks around the cart, a gap that mostly shows up after dismissal.

It leads because 20 slots fit the common 18 to 22 student room and almost no building is left. Against the 18-device Meteteel, you get two more slots at the same $200 to $500 bracket. The VEVOR adds surge protection and a lock and key, but holds four fewer devices.

Buy it for a standard class that wants a cart ready on day one. The caveat is the listing: slot dimensions are not stated, so confirm thickness for chunky cases before you order.

Capacity
20 devices
Assembly
95% pre-assembled
Locks
Independent front/back
Price
$200-500

What we like

  • +95% pre-assembled
  • +Front and back locks
  • +Ventilated steel frame
  • +20-device capacity

Watch out for

  • −Slot size not listed
  • −Fixed capacity

Buy it if: A typical 18 to 22 student classroom.

Skip it if: Your roster exceeds 20.

2

Best for Security

VEVOR 16 Device Charging Station with Lock & Key, Mobile Charging Cart

Our verdict: A locked 16-device cart with built-in surge protection.

The VEVOR holds 16 devices up to 15.6 inch screens, with a lock and key, built-in surge protection, an integrated power strip and two locking casters. Surge protection matters on a cart because a single spike on the building circuit can take out an entire row of chargers, and thus the batteries behind them.

It ranks second because capacity is lower: four fewer devices than the Meteteel 20. In exchange it fits larger 15.6 inch laptops, which the Meteteel 18 and both POCHAR carts cap at 14 inches. The lock and key is the other differentiator for rooms that stay open between periods.

Buy it for a small class or rooms where the cart sits unattended. The caveat is the 16 slot ceiling, and the listing does not describe assembly, so budget time for setup.

Capacity
16 devices
Screens
Up to 15.6 in
Protection
Surge + lock and key
Price
$200-500

What we like

  • +Lock and key included
  • +Built-in surge protection
  • +Fits 15.6 in screens
  • +Two locking casters

Watch out for

  • −Only 16 slots
  • −Assembly details unlisted

Buy it if: Unattended classrooms needing security.

Skip it if: You have more than 16 devices.

3

Best for Large Rosters

POCHAR 30 Devices 14'' Screen Laptop Charging Cart for K-12 Classrooms

Our verdict: A 30-device cart with circuit breaker and grounding protection.

The POCHAR 30 holds 30 devices with screens up to 14 inches and an open-back cooling design, a circuit breaker with grounding protection and two locking casters. The circuit breaker is the key spec. At 30 devices, simultaneous charging draws serious current, and a breaker trips instead of letting wiring overheat.

It ranks third because it ships flat-packed, so assembly takes real time, unlike the pre-assembled Meteteel. In return it gives you 30 slots and electrical protection, and it undercuts the Plugsharge's 32 slots with a lock-friendly layout. The open back helps airflow around chargers.

Buy it for large classes or two sections sharing one cart. The caveat is the 14 inch cap, which excludes 15.6 inch laptops, and the work of putting it together.

Capacity
30 devices
Screens
Up to 14 in
Protection
Circuit breaker, grounding
Price
$200-500

What we like

  • +30-device capacity
  • +Circuit breaker included
  • +Open-back cooling
  • +Two locking casters

Watch out for

  • −Flat-pack assembly
  • −14 in screen limit

Buy it if: Large classes or shared carts.

Skip it if: You want a pre-assembled cart.

4

Best for 18-Student Rooms

Meteteel Fully Assembled 18 Device Laptop Charging Cart for School (Black)

Our verdict: An 18-device cart that draws from a single wall outlet.

This Meteteel takes 18 devices in slots capped at 14 inch screens and 1.4 inches of thickness. It draws from a single wall outlet and uses zig-zag cable dividers with star-pattern ventilation. The single outlet draw is its practical strength: older buildings with few outlets can still power it.

It sits fourth because the 20-device sibling offers more slots in the same $200 to $500 bracket, which makes this model hard to justify unless the roster is exactly 18. The thickness limit is also stricter than the POCHAR mixed-fleet cart's 1.5 inches.

Buy it for rosters near 18 in an older classroom. The caveat is device thickness: a laptop in a padded sleeve can exceed 1.4 inches and simply will not slide into the slot.

Capacity
18 devices
Device limit
14 in, 1.4 in thick
Power
Single wall outlet
Price
$200-500

What we like

  • +Single outlet draw
  • +Zig-zag cable dividers
  • +Star-pattern ventilation
  • +Fully assembled

Watch out for

  • −1.4 in thickness limit
  • −Two slots fewer than the 20

Buy it if: Rosters near 18 students.

Skip it if: Your devices are thick.

5

Best Highest Capacity

Plugsharge 32-Device Laptop Charging Cart for Chromebooks, iPad & Tablets

Our verdict: The highest-capacity cart here at 32 devices.

The Plugsharge holds 32 devices up to 15.6 inch screens, with surge and ground fault protection, 32 individual cable organizers and numbered slots on an open rack. Numbered slots matter in shared use because they assign every device to a bay, so a missing laptop shows up at once during check-in.

It ranks fifth because the open rack is less secure than the locked carts above, and the listing mentions no lock. It wins on capacity and screen size, matching the 15.6 inch limit of the VEVOR with double the bays. For a locked alternative with 30 bays, look at the POCHAR.

Buy it for oversized rosters or two classes sharing a cart. The caveat is security: you need your own lockable cabinet or room plan, since the cart will not protect the devices overnight.

Capacity
32 devices
Screens
Up to 15.6 in
Protection
Surge + ground fault
Price
$200-500

What we like

  • +32-device capacity
  • +Surge and ground fault protection
  • +Numbered slots
  • +Individual cable organizers

Watch out for

  • −Open rack design
  • −No lock listed

Buy it if: Oversized rosters.

Skip it if: You need locked storage.

6

Best Mixed Fleet

POCHAR 30 Unit Device Charging Station for Chromebook, iPad, 14'' Laptop

Our verdict: A locked 30-bay cart rated for mixed devices.

This POCHAR fits 30 devices up to 14 inch screens and 1.5 inches deep, rated for a mixed fleet. It has numbered bays, removable doors and four keys total, two per lock. The mixed-fleet rating matters because Chromebooks, iPads and laptops differ in thickness and charger placement, and a cart built only for laptops wastes bays.

It ranks sixth because it lists no electrical protection, unlike the 30-device POCHAR above, which includes a circuit breaker and grounding. That omission is notable at 30 chargers. The locks and mixed-fleet design are its pitch, and the removable doors ease access during class.

Buy it for classrooms that mix Chromebooks, iPads and laptops. The caveat is power: confirm protection on the live listing, or put the cart on a protected circuit.

Capacity
30 devices
Device limit
14 in, 1.5 in thick
Keys
4 total, 2 per lock
Price
$200-500

What we like

  • +Mixed-fleet rating
  • +Numbered bays
  • +Two locks, four keys
  • +Removable doors

Watch out for

  • −No protection listed
  • −14 in screen limit

Buy it if: Mixed Chromebook, iPad and laptop fleets.

Skip it if: You want listed power protection.

7

Best Slot Detail

ALT Technology 30-Bay Mobile School Charging Cart Station for Chromebook, Tablet

Our verdict: A 32-device cart with UL-approved power strips.

The ALT cart holds 32 devices across two shelves, with a separate cable shelf, UL-approved power strips and slots of 1 by 14 by 10.5 inches for laptops up to 14 inches. UL approval on the strips means a recognized safety standard covers the part that carries the current, which many carts do not state.

It ranks seventh because the title says 30 bays while the listing states 32, a mismatch you need to resolve before buying. Its 1 inch slot is also the narrowest stated in the group, tighter than the Meteteel 18's 1.4 inches, so cases are a real risk.

Buy it if you are comparing 30-bay carts and value stated slot dimensions and certified strips. The caveat is thickness: measure every device with its case, because a 1 inch slot rules out many protective sleeves.

Capacity
32 devices
Slot
1 x 14 x 10.5 in
Power
UL-approved strips
Price
$200-500

What we like

  • +UL-approved power strips
  • +Separate cable shelf
  • +32-device capacity
  • +Stated slot dimensions

Watch out for

  • −Bay count mismatch
  • −Narrow 1 in slot

Buy it if: Comparison shoppers of 30-bay carts.

Skip it if: You have thick devices.

8

Best Open Access

Kraftgen 16-Bay Open Charging Cart for Chromebooks, Laptops, Tablets & iPads

Our verdict: A lower-cost open cart for fast daily access.

The Kraftgen holds 16 devices in an open design with UL-listed power strips, 3 inch non-marring casters, removable dividers, padded shelves and rear cable clips. It is the only cart here with no lock, and the only one in the $100 to $200 bracket.

It ranks last because open design means no lockup, which suits only supervised rooms. Padded shelves and non-marring casters protect devices and floors, but they do not replace security. Next to the VEVOR, which has the same 16 slots, you save a bracket and give up the lock and surge protection.

Buy it for classrooms that value fast daily access and have a secure room. The caveat is simple: do not leave it unattended, since nothing here stops a walk-off.

Capacity
16 bays
Casters
3 in non-marring
Power
UL-listed strips
Price
$100-200

What we like

  • +Lowest price bracket
  • +Padded shelves
  • +Removable dividers
  • +UL-listed power strips

Watch out for

  • −Open design, no lock
  • −Only 16 bays

Buy it if: Rooms prioritizing quick access.

Skip it if: The cart sits unattended.

Methodology

How We Ranked These

Capacity

Listed device count against typical classroom rosters.

Security

Locks, keys and open versus closed designs.

Power Safety

Surge protection, circuit breakers and UL-listed strips.

Device Fit

Maximum screen size and thickness per slot.

Setup

Pre-assembled versus flat-pack effort.

Every Primea Score uses the same weights: Performance 30% · Build & Materials 20% · Everyday Usability 20% · Value 20% · Owner Satisfaction 10%. Full scoring rules

Buyer's guide

How to Pick the Right One for You

By Roster Size

Capacity is the first filter.

DevicesOur pick
Up to 16VEVOR 16 Device Charging Station
About 18Meteteel 18 Device
18 to 20Meteteel 20 Device
About 30POCHAR 30 Devices K-12
Up to 32Plugsharge 32-Device

By Budget

SpendOur pick
$100-200Kraftgen 16-Bay Open Cart
$200-500, ready to useMeteteel 20 Device
$200-500, lockedVEVOR 16 Device
$200-500, big rosterPOCHAR 30 Devices K-12

Locked vs Open Cart

Locked

Secures devices overnight. Picks: Meteteel 20, VEVOR 16, POCHAR 30 Unit.

Open

Fast daily access, no lock. Picks: Kraftgen 16-Bay, Plugsharge 32.

Most schools should default to locked unless the room is always supervised.

By Device Type

Your fleetOur pick
Mixed Chromebooks and iPadsPOCHAR 30 Unit
15.6 inch laptopsVEVOR 16 Device
Standard 14 inch laptopsMeteteel 20 Device
Large mixed cartsPlugsharge 32-Device

For Older Buildings Specifically

Look for

Circuit breaker or surge protection and a simple outlet draw.

In this ranking

The Meteteel 18 draws from a single wall outlet, and the POCHAR 30 K-12 adds a circuit breaker.

When to Spend More

Spend more if

Devices stay overnight: the Meteteel 20 locks front and back at $200-500.

Save if

A teacher supervises the cart: the Kraftgen costs $100-200.

Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How many devices should a cart hold?+

Match your largest class plus a few spare slots. Carts here run from 16, like the VEVOR, to 32, like the Plugsharge. Rosters that grow mid-year are the reason to buy more capacity than today needs, since a full cart has no room for loaners.

What is the biggest mistake?+

Ignoring slot thickness. The Meteteel 18 limits devices to 1.4 inches, and the ALT cart lists a 1 inch slot. A laptop in a thick case will not fit, so measure it first, case included.

Is a locked cart worth it?+

For unattended rooms, yes. The VEVOR and Meteteel 20 are the locked picks, with a lock and key and independent front and back locks. The Kraftgen is open, so it needs a supervised room.

How do I set one up?+

The Meteteel 20 is 95% pre-assembled, so setup is mostly rolling it into place and plugging in. The POCHAR carts ship flat-packed and need building. Follow the maker's manual and tighten all hardware.

How do I keep it running?+

Keep the vents clear and the cables organized so heat does not build. Numbered slots and cable organizers, like on the Plugsharge, make it easier to spot a loose charger. Check the strips after any breaker trip and replace worn cables promptly.

Can I mix Chromebooks and iPads?+

The POCHAR 30 Unit is rated for a mixed fleet of Chromebooks, iPads and 14 inch laptops, up to 1.5 inches thick. For other carts, confirm tablet and Chromebook support on the live listing, including the slot depth.

Final take

Buy the Meteteel 20 for a typical classroom of 18 to 22 students. Rooms that sit unattended should choose the locked VEVOR, large rosters the POCHAR with its circuit breaker, and shared fleets the Plugsharge. Measure your thickest device in its case before ordering, since slot limits are the most common reason a cart does not fit.

More Ranked & Reviewed Guides